Kinross-shire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kinross-shire, Scotland Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kinross is an inland county in the south-east of Scotland, bounded on the north-west by the Ochils, which separate it from Strathearn in the county of Perth, and on the east by the Lomond hills, on the south-east and south by the Benarty range, and on the south by the Cleish hills which divide it from the county of Fife. It is about eleven miles in length and nine miles in extreme breadth, comprising and area of 70 square miles or 44,800 acres.
Prior to the year 1426, the greater portion of the county was part of that of Fife, and for a considerable time after its separation, it contained only the parishes of Kinross, Orwell, and Portmoak. But in 1685 were added the parishes of Cleish and Tullibole and some small portions of the county of Perth. It was erected into a sheriffdom, conjointly with Clackmannan, in 1807. Kinross is the county town and the county also contains the populous village of Milnathort and a few hamlets.
The surface, though hilly towards the boundaries, is generally level in the interior and is divided into several extensive plains. About four-fifths of the land is in profitable cultivation. Excellent crops of oats and barley are produced, as well as fine crops of wheat. The pastures on the low lands are principally for cattle, and considerable numbers of sheep are fed upon the Cleish and Ochil hills. About 3000 acres are in woodland and plantations. Minerals are not extensive. Coal is found in the south but is not wrought. Freestone is quarried in the parish of Cleish and whinstone is every where abundant. Sandstone and limestone are also found.
The manufacture of cutlery has been discontinued and now only cotton is woven for the manufacturers of Glasgow. Tartan shawls and plaids are manufactured at Kinross and Milnathort. The population of the county in 1851 was 8763.
(Source: Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851. FHL book 941 E5L.)
Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Kinross. Click on the parish name to see information about records.
|Fossoway & Tulliebole||461|
|Orwell (including Milnathort)||463|
|Tulliebole -- see Fossoway||461|
The Family History Library has county-wide census indexes for Kinross-shire for 1881.
The library also has a collection of census surname indexes for different places within Kinross-shire. Click here to see a table listing these other census surname indexes that are available at the library.
Click on the map at the right to see a larger version, and click again on the larger map. Next, click on the ‘Expand’ button when it appears in the lower right-hand corner of the map.
Click here to see and outline map of the parishes of Kinross-shire.
[Return to county list.]
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2016, at 20:39.
- This page has been accessed 4,770 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News