Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire
St Bartholomew Kirby Muxloe Leicestershire.jpg
St Bartholomew Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Blaby
Registration District Blaby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597; For more records see Glenfield
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Guthlaxton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office


Parish History

KIRBY-MUXLOE, a chapelry, in the parish of Glenfield, union of Blaby, hundred of Sparkenhoe,S. division of the county of Leicester, 4½ miles (W.)from Leicester. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1636-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120

Diocese of Leicester: Kirby Muxloe Bap 1597 - 1972 Marr 1597 - 1987 (Banns to1989) Bur 1597 - 1966

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 689-692. Date accessed: 27 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 19:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,357 times.