Kirby le Soken, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kirby le Soken, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirby le Soken, Essex|
St Michael Kirby-le-Soken Essex contributor Peter Stack
|Poor Law Union||Tendring|
|Parish registers: 1681|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Liberty of the Sokens|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Kirby Le Soken, is a village and a parish in Tendring district, Essex. The village stands adjacent to the Colchester and Walton railway, 2 miles W by N of Walton steam boat pier, and 12 miles by road SSW of Harwich; and it has a station on the railway. The parish contains also the hamlets of Kirby Cross, Sneating, and Upper Street. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Kirby le Soken, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|Kirby le Soken, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1681-1717, 1725-1730, 1749-1857|| |
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Kirby le Soken on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 06:32.
- This page has been accessed 3,593 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News