Kirk Ireton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kirk Ireton, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Kirk Ireton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirk Ireton, Derbyshire
Kirk Ireton Holy Trinity Derbyshire.jpg
Kirk Ireton Holy Trinity Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne; Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirksworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

Kirk Ireton Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Blackwall and Ireton Wood.

IRETON, KIRK (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the hundred of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 2¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Wirksworth. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kirk Ireton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Kirk Ireton Holy Trinity (1572) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1880-1912

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Kirk Ireton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 620-623. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 12:34.
  • This page has been accessed 2,141 times.