Kirkby Laythorpe with Asgarby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Kirkby Laythorpe with Asgarby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkby Laythorpe with Asgarby, Lincolnshire
Kirkby+la+Thorpe St+Denys Lincolnshire.jpg
Kirkby+la+Thorpe St+Denys Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aswardhurn
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford PLU
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660; Separate registers exist for Asgarby beginning 1676
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562; Separate records exist for Asgarby beginning 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Kirkby la Thorpe St Denis (sometimes Denys) is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed by the amalagamation of two Ancient Parishes Kirkby la Thorpe and Asgarby (by Sleaford) in 1737.[1]

The Ancient church of St peter Asgarby was demolished in the 1630's and the Norman church of St Denis served as parish church. It was restored in 1911-12.

Thorpe, Laythorpe and Burgh were each mediaeval village settlements which were abandoned.

The village is close to Sleaford and is a small village and civil parish.

KIRKBY-LAYTHORPE (St. Denis), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Aswardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (E. by N.) from Sleaford. The living is a rectory in medieties (to which the vicarage of Asgarby was united in 1737). [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Kirkby Laythorpe Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kirkby Laythorpe with Asgarby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/KirkbylaThorpe/

References

  1. Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.


  1. Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 May 2015, at 03:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,091 times.