Kirklington, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kirklington, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Kirklington St+Swithun Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1575|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1622|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
KIRKLINGTON (St. Swithin), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Southwell.
Kirklington St Swithun is an Ancient parish in Nottinghamshire, the village and civil parish of Kirklington are within the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.Kirklington Wikipedia
The parish church of St Swithun Newark Road Kirklington has been designated as grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Kirklington St Swithin
Kirklington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|KIRKLINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1577-1956 Marriages 1575-2002 Burials 1575-1902 Bishop’s Transcripts 1622-1848
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kirklington
Kirklington St Swithin. Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1702, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 14-16, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 28 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 22:52.
- This page has been accessed 2,107 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News