Knettishall, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Knettishall, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Knettishall, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Knettishall, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackbourn
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1783
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackbourn
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KNETTISHALL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Blackbourn, W. division of Suffolk, 5½ miles (S. by W.) from East Harling. [1]


Knettishall All Saints is an Ancient parish in Suffolk. Prior to 1837 it was part of the Dioces of Norwich from 1837 it became part of the Diocese of Ely.
The church fell into disuse in the early part of the 20th century and was declared redundant.The building has now been converted to a private house.

The parish boundary formed part of the county boundary between Norfolk and Suffolk. 

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Thetford 1837-1935
  • Bury St Edmunds 1935-

Church records

Knettishall, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Knettishall, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1814-1836
FREG 1773-1911
1774-1872
1773-1948
FS PRs Undefined 1773-1911 Undefined 1773-1872 Undefined 1773-1948
JOIN
1814-1836

NBI

1813-1899
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474634.


Poor Law Unions

Thetford Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 706-708. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 01:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,167 times.