Knipton, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Knipton, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Knipton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Knipton, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Grantham PLU
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KNIPTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Grantham, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 7 miles (S. W. by W.) from Grantham.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Knipton like this:

KNIPTON, a parish, with a pleasant village, in the district of Grantham and county of Leicester; on the river Devon, 5½ miles SSW of Sedgebrook r. station, and 7 SW of Grantham. There is a Baptist chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Knipton Bap 1561 - 1997 Marr 1561 - 1837 (Banns to1959) Bur 1561 - 1972

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438740.


Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 706-708. Date accessed: 27 August 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,534 times.