Kopparberg County, Sweden GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kopparberg County, Sweden)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSweden Gotoarrow.pngKopparberg County

Guide to Kopparberg County, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

Image of county shield here.



The administrative organization of Kopparberg County is unclear. In medieval times the province of Dalarna was often under the jurisdiction of Västerås castle. Gustav Vasa divided Dalarna into 2 jurisdictions. Gustav II Adolf and the guardian of Queen Kristina (while the queen was still underage) tried to establish a Bergslän which would include parts of Dalarna and Västmanland. An Act of government in 1634 created a County called “Dalarna and Kopparberg”. A royal decree in 1647 renamed the County to be Kopparberg. The County kept this name until 1997 when it was renamed Dalarna County.

The county letter for Kopparberg is: W


  • Maps
  • Kopparberg Word List


Kopparberg has Tingslags instead of Härads. Through the years there has been a lot of variation in the Tingslag organization in Kopparberg. Because of this, the Tinglsag information is found on the parish pages instead of here. Click on the parish you need in the table below.


  • (Latest news for research in Kopparberg here)


  • Archives
  • Economy
  • Geography
  • Historical Timeline
  • Language
  • Military
FamilySearch Indexing
FamilySearch Forums


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 5,575 times.