Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kristiansan, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Kristiansand clerical district contain priest and sexton records for Kristiansand's Cathedral church. Oddernesclerical district was under Kristiansand clerical district from 1805, but became its own clerical district in 1825 including the parishes Oddernes and Randesund. These records are located in Oddernes clerical district.
The earliest church records for Kristiansand were lost when the city burned in May of 1734, however some marriages and burials can be found in "Norsk slektshistorisk tidsskrift IV, 1934, pages 52-72.
Microfilms at the Family History Library are from 1734-1933. Theyare available also for the penitentiary in Kristiansand for 1840-1875.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
The 1801 census (b. 36) for Kristiansand city lists the street name and number, the person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1001 Christiansand Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1865: 11865-telling for 1001 Christiansand Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1885: 1885-teljinga for 1001 Kristiansand Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1900: 1900-telling for 1011 Kristiansand Database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1910: Folketellingen 1910
Database at Digitalarkivet.
1667-1711: Probates may be found in Mandal judicial district.
1711-1876: Probates may be found in Kristiansand city judicial district.
1771-1810: Clerical probates may be found in Kristiansand Deanery.
- This page was last modified on 25 June 2015, at 15:39.
- This page has been accessed 1,463 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News