Kvænangen, Troms, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kvænangen, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTroms County Gotoarrow.pngKvænangen

Guide to Kvænangen, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Contents

Church Records

Kvænangen is a parish in Skjervøy clerical district. Records begin in 1748.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records

  • 1801, 1865, 1875, 1900 see Skjervøy clerical district.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

30 Aarøen, 9 Alteidet nordre, 26 Badderbotn, 21 Bankenes, 39 Berg, 10 Brøskift, 16 Bugtene,s 14 Burfjordvandet, 42 Fjeldnes, 8 Havnebugten, 22 Hjellnes, 45 Jupanvik, 7 Jøkelfjordeidet, 14 Kaasen, 37 Karvik, 31 Kjækan, 29 Kjøllefjord, 19 Kviteberg, 33 Kvænangsbotn, 5 Langnes, 18 Løkeng, 35 Løkvik, 20 Moldvik, 25 Nappen, 32 Nordbotn, 13 Nordkjosen, 28 Nordstrømmen, 40 Nøklan, 44 Olaberget, 8 Olderbakken, 2 Olderfjord, 38 Rakkenes, 22 Ravelsnes, 23 Ravelsvik, 3 Reinfjord, 2 Rødøen, 6 Saltnes, 41 Sandøren, 1 Seglvik, 42 Skagen, 41 Skorpen, 8 Sletnes, 43 Spilderbugten, 42 Spilderen, 17 Stajord, 31 Storbugten, 11 Storsletten, 35 Strømmen indre, 27 Sækkemoen, 15 Sørkjosen, 36 Sørstrømmen, 4 Tverfjord, 24 Under Eidet, 41 Vaagen, 44 Valan

Probate Records

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 June 2015, at 16:57.
  • This page has been accessed 755 times.