La Libertad RegionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to La Libertad Region ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Civil registration in Peru identifies residents and issues certificates regarding their identity. The registration of births, marriages, and deaths documents the civil status of the residents The information in civil records may be the most accurate available for finding an ancestor who lived in Peru.
In 1852, during the Republican Era, the government instituted civil registration. This was first done by political authorities, such as prefecture, subprefecture, and state. In 1856, this responsibility was given to municipalities. Currently, civil registration is in the hands of the Registro Nacional de Identificación y Estado Civil (RENIEC), which delegates the registration process to municipal registrars.
In 1876, Peru’s census counted a population of 2.6 million residents, with just over 100,000 of those living in Lima. By 1900, Peru’s population numbered 3.8 million, with 223,807 in Lima. The Family History Library’s collection includes civil registers from the following municipalities:
- Lima o Cercado de lima
- Magdalena del Mar
- Magdalena Vieja
- San Miguel (previously known as San Miguel del Mar)
- Santiago de Surco (previously known as San José de Surco)
- This page was last modified on 7 September 2015, at 00:56.
- This page has been accessed 807 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News