La Plata County, Colorado GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to La Plata County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|La Plata County, Colorado|
Location in the state of Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
|Founded||February 10, 1874|
|Address|| La Plata County Courthouse|
1060 E 2nd Ave
Durango, CO 81301-5157
La Plata County Website
County Clerk has marriage records from 1878 and land records from 1876;
Clerk District Court has divorce and probate records; County Court has court
records; San Juan Basin Health Department has birth, death and burial records
|Beginning dates for major county records|
Early records are with Vital Statistics Registrar, City Hall, Durango: also clerk and recorder's office 1900-1912. Some early marriages in San Juan County clerk and recorder's office.
Parent CountyConejos and Lake Counties.
Business Records and Commerce
- Allison Tiffany
- Crestview Memorial Garden
- Hay Gulch
- Ignacio East
- Ignacio West
- La Boca
- La Posta
- Ouray Memorial
- Three Rivers
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Colorado Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing La Plata County, Colorado Genealogy census records online, see: Colorado Census.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Pine River
An Index of the WPA Employment Case Files between 1935 and 1942 was compiled from the official record of the Colorado Department of Public Welfare, La Plata County Office. The information contained in the record generally shows:
- Name of the applicant
- Date of the filing
- Case number
- Name(s) and location of next of kin
- Date applicant accepted for employment
- Military service dates
- General work experience record and qualifications
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for La Plata County, Colorado Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as La Plata County, Colorado Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for La Plata County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968
La Plata County WPA Enrollments 1935 - 1942
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Pine River Public Library District/Bayfield
395 Center Drive
Bayfield, CO 81122
Phone: (970) 884-2222
- Durango Public Library
1188 E Second Ave
Durango, CO 81301
Phone: (970) 375-3380
- Ignacio Library District
470 Goddard Ave
Ignacio, CO 81137
Phone: (970) 563-9287
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. 
- 1864 - 1995 Colorado, County Marriages, 1864-1995 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1853 - 2006 Colorado Statewide Marriage Index, 1853-2006 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1900 - 1939 Colorado, Statewide Marriage Index, 1900-1939 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1859 - 1900 Colorado Marriages, 1859-1900 at Ancestry.com — index $
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. 
Cities and Towns (* incorporated)
• Bayfield *
• Durango* (county seat)
• Hermosa 
• Ignacio* 
• La Boca
• La Plata
• La Posta
• Loma Linda
• Pinon Acres
- La Plata County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), La Plata County, Colorado. Page 99 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2016, at 15:16.
- This page has been accessed 9,309 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News