Lacock, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lacock, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Lacock, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lacock, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chippenham
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Chippenham PLU
Registration District Chippenham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1620
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LAYCOCK, or LACOCK, a village and a parish in Chippenham district in the county of Wiltshire. The village is located in hundreds of Chippenham, Chippenham and Calne. It is 3¼ S by W of Chippenham. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1][2][3]

The village stands on the river Avon, near the Wiltshire and Berks canal, and near the Wiltshire, Somerset, and Weymouth railway, 2½ miles S by E of Corsham railway station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lacock, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Lacock, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1559-1848


NIM 1559-1840
1559-1837
1559-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464194.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 37-40. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. From: 'Laverton - Laycock', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 37-40. British HistoryDate accessed: 30 September 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,006 times.