Lake County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lake County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png ColoradoGotoarrow.png Lake County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Lake County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Lake County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Leadville
Courthouse
Address Lake County Courthouse
505 Harrison Ave
Leadville, CO 80461-0917
Phone. 719.486.1410
Lake County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Formerly Carbonate Co. Name changed to Lake 10 Feb 1879
County Clerk has marriage records from 1869, land records
from 1861 and some burial records 1885-1903 Clerk District
Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1891-1906 [2]*
1869 [2]*
1881-1903 [2]*

1861
1861

*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Early birth records are kept by the City Clerk in Leadville.[2]

County Seat

Leadville [3]

Parent County

1861--Lake County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county. When it was divided in 1879, the part which is Lake County today was known as Carbonate County for a brief period. Chaffee County was known as Lake County during this same time period before its name became Chaffee.

Neighboring Counties

Colake.jpg

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

Lake County’s Public Library’s website has links to records of Lake County’s cemeteries.

Interments in the “Old” Leadville Cemetery began in 1877. The Evergreen Cemetery opened up in November of 1879; some graves were moved from the “Old” Leadville Cemetery to the new Evergreen Cemetery. A Catholic cemetery, St. Joseph’s, opened in the mid 1800s. Some graves were moved from the Catholic section of the Evergreen Cemetery to St. Joseph’s.

Old Leadville Cemetery Records:
Original Leadville Cemetery- 1877-1879 (alphabetical order by last name)
Evergreen (Leadville, Colorado) Cemetery Records:
Evergreen Cemetery (A-G)- 1879-1981 (alphabetical by last name)
Evergreen Cemetery (H-O)- 1879-1981
Evergreen Cemetery (P-Z)- 1879-1981
Evergreen Cemetery Walking Tour
Who’s Where in Leadville’s Evergreen Cemetery (abbreviations, sample page, key map and 13 sectional maps)

St. Joseph’s Records:
Catholic Cemeteries 1888-1981 (alphabetical order by last name following the page of Catholic cemetery list.)
Who’s Where in Leadville’s Catholic Cemeteries (contains abbreviations, sample page, key maps, maps of St. Joseph’s, Holy Cross, Granite, and Twin Lakes Cemeteries)

Census

For tips on accessing Lake County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Local History and Biography

Local histories are available for Lake County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Colorado State Archives has put an index to the School Census for District No. 6 for the years 1880-1903 on-line.

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Lake County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Lake County Births to 1909
Lake County Justice of the Peace Cases 1883 - 1884
Lake County School District #6 1880 - 1903
Lake County School District #12 1893 - 1900
Lake County School District #15 1952 - 1958

Leadville School Census 1883 - 1910

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
Frisco Colorado Family History Center
Aspen Colorado Family History Center
Eagle Valley Colorado Family History Center

Libraries

Lake County Public Library
1115 Harrison Ave
Leadville, CO 80461
Telehone: 719-486-0569
Website www.lakecountypubliclibrary.org/

Museums
Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Divorce

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lake County, Colorado. Page 99 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 20:52.
  • This page has been accessed 3,943 times.