Lakenham St Mark, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes
Lakenham St Mark, Norfolk
Lakenham St Mark.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Humbleyard
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

LAKENHAM, a parish in Norwich district, and within Norwich borough, Norfolk; on the river Yare and on two lines of the Great Eastern railway, 1¾ mile S by E of the centre of Norwich. The parish is cut ecclesiastically into two sections, Old Lakenham and Lakenham-St. Mark. [1]
Lakenham St Mark was originally a chapel of ease to Lakenham, Norfolk The present church was built in 1840 by the architect Norwich Dioceasan architect John Brown as part of the expansion of churches around Norwich.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Church Records

Lakenham St Mark, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[3]
Lakenham St Mark, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1844-1896


TIN 1813-1880


This parish does not appear online at FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held

Norfolk Record Office has no deposited material or reference

Poor Law Unions

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72)
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  3. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 834 times.