Lamar County, Mississippi GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lamar County, Mississippi)

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Lamar County

Guide to Lamar County Mississippi ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records

Lamar County, Mississippi
Map of Mississippi highlighting Lamar County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Founded 19 February, 1904
County Seat Oxford
Address Lamar County Courthouse
Town Sq; PO Box 1240
Oxford, MS 38655
Phone: 662.234.2131
Lamar County Courthouse]


County Courthouse

Lamar County Courthouse
Town Sq; PO Box 1240
Oxford, MS 38655
Phone: 662.234.2131

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records. [1]

Beginning Dates for Lamar County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


Parent County

1904--Lamar County was created 19 February 1904 from Marion and Pearl River Counties.
County seat: Purvis [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1934--Some records were lost. For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



For tips on accessing Lamar County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lamar County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.





Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lamar County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Lamar County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lamar County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.


Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Lamar County Historical Society
57 Max White Rd.
Purvis, MS 39475

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lamar County, Mississippi page 380, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 September 2015, at 23:28.
  • This page has been accessed 5,978 times.