Lambeth All Saints, Surrey GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Free guide to Lambeth All Saints, Surrey genealogy and family history: parish register transcripts, census records, wills, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lambeth All Saints, Surrey|
|Poor Law Union||Lambeth PLU|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London|
|Probate Court||Pre-1837 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; 1837-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Surrey Record Office|
Lambeth All Saints Leake Street, Lower Marsh was created a district church in the year 1848 and stood within the civil parish boundaries of St Mary Lambeth. 'Lambeth St Mary, a parish, and newly-enfranchised borough, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey and annexed to Lambeth Palace. There are places of worship for Roman Catholics, Baptists, Wesleyans, Methodists, Welsh Methodists, Independents and Unitarians.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474653.
FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2014.
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 14:12.
- This page has been accessed 2,401 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News