Lampeter, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Lampter, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...
Lampeter (Welsh: Llanbedr Pont Steffan or, more informally, Llambed) is a town, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. It lies at the confluence of the Afon Teifi and the Afon Dulas.
LAMPETER (LLAN-BEDR) PONT-STEPHEN, a borough, market-town, and parish, partly in the upper division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, but chiefly in that of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 27 Miles (E) from Cardigan, and 203 (W. by N.) from London, containing the hamlet of Trêvycoed. The name signifies the church of St. Peter, the distinguishing appellation having been added from the erection of a bridge over the river Teivy, at the distance of about half a mile, as has been vaguely conjectured, by King Stephen, in one of his inroads into Wales. The church, dedicated to St. Peter the Apostle, has been entirely rebuilt; it is a very handsome edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel, and when the tower shall be completed it will add greatly to the beauty of the surrounding landscape. The churchyard commands a fine view of the Vale of Teivy. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Calvinistic Methodists; and four Sunday schools.
For more information in Lampeter see Genuki - Lampeter
|before 31 March 1974||Cardiganshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Ceredigion|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 17 January 2014, at 18:33.
- This page has been accessed 380 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More