Lanchester, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lanchester, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Lanchester, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lanchester, Durham
Saints Church Lanchester Northumberland.jpg
Saints Church Lanchester Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester; Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Lanchester PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1763
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LANCHESTER (All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the W. division of Chester ward, N. division, but partly in the N. W. division, of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham; several places of worship for dissenters. At Brooms is a Roman Catholic chapel. The poor-law union of Lanchester comprises 18 chapelries or townships,[1]

Additional information: All Saints Lanchester is an ancient parish and was very extensive including four chapelries and 15 towns. The church is Norman in origin but had sixteenth century additions. The parish included Billingside,Burnhope, Hamsteds, Billingside, Burnhope, Conside with Knitsley, Cornsay,East Butsfield, West Butsfield and Steely,Greencroft,Healey Field,Holmside, Ivestone,Kyo,Lanchester, Langley.
Lanchester, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester; Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Lanchester PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1763
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/164 1764-1865 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The transcripts contain within them references to Esh, Durham and Satley, Durham for 1803. There are elsewhere separate transcripts for both chapelries. Refer to these parishes for details. 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1560-1894 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/La).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241348.


Poor Law Unions

Lanchester Poor Law Union,Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Lanchester on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 March 2015, at 19:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,278 times.