Langford, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Langford, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Langford, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Langford, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton; Farringdon
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Langford; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LANGFORD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Farringdon, hundred of Bampton, county of Oxford,3½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Lechlade. There is a chapel of ease at Little Farringdon. [1]

Other places in the parish include: Little Faringdon, Little Farringdon, Radcutt, Radcot, Radcott, and Grafton.

Genuki.org.uk provides a more detailed explanation of this parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Some church records are available at the Family History Library or ordered online and sent to a close by  a Family History Center to your location.

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241200.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-23. Date accessed: 10 October 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 23:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,280 times.