Langton by Horncastle, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Langton, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Langton by Horncastle, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Langton by Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Langton-by-Horncastle St Margaret Lincolnshire.jpg
Langton-by-Horncastle St Margaret Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Gartree
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Horncastle PLU
Registration District Horncastle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1753
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Langton by Horncastle St Margaret is an Ancient Parish is a 14th century church which has been restored in subsequent centuries, In 1890 the church was restored by W.Scorer.

There are several Langton parishes in the diocese of Lincoln; do not confuse with Langton by Spilsby, Lincolnshire Langton by Wragby, Lincolnshire

LANGTOFT (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Bourne, wapentake of Ness, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (N. N. W.) from MarketDeeping.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Langton by Horncastle was in the Horncastle sub-district of Horncastle registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Langton by Horncastle Par 1 will identify available images.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438766.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Horncastle Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Langton/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 25-28. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 May 2015, at 03:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,940 times.