Langton Matravers, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Langton Matravers

Langton Matravers, Dorset
Langton Matravers St George, Dorset.jpg
Parish church of St. George
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rowberrow
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham and Purbeck PLU
Registration District Wareham
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset

Contents

Parish History

LANGTON-MATRAVERS, a village and a parish in Wareham district, Dorset. The village stands near the coast, 3 miles SE of Corfe-Castle, and 8 SE of Wareham railroad station. The parish contains also Acton hamlet. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Langton Matravers, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1670
1670
1670
Images
1670-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1889 Ancestry[3] 1813-1839 Ancestry[4] 1813-1879 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1838-1880 Ancestry[6] 1659-1837 Joiner[7]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241336.

In addition to returns made as part of the decennial England Census a census was taken in 1803 in preparation for a threatened French Invasion.

1803 Census transcripts hosted by Langton Matravers OPC

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales], publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 07 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:53.
  • This page has been accessed 895 times.