Langton by Wragby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Langton by Wragby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Langton by Wragby, Lincolnshire
Langton-by-Wragby St Giles Lincolnshire.jpg
Langton-by-Wragby St Giles Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wraggoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Horncastle
Registration District Horncastle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wraggoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

Langton by Wragby St Giles is an Ancient Parish and included Langton Woodhouse, Low Langton, and Strubby.

The church of St Giles is a Grade II listed building and was rebuilt in 1766 and 1866 and originated in the 14th century.

There are a number of langton parishes in the diocese of Lincoln; do not confuse with Langton, Lincolnshire Langton by Spilsby, Lincolnshire

This parish is the birthplace of Stephen Langton Archbishop of Canterbury, a central figure in the dispute between King John of England and Pope Innocent III, which ultimately led to the issuing of Magna Carta in 1215

LANGTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Horncastle, E. division of the wapentake of Wraggoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 1¼ mile (E. S. E.) from Wragby.[1]


Civil Registration

This parish was in the Wragby sub-district of Horncastle registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Langton by Wragby Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Langton by Wragby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438766.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Horncastle Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 25-28. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 02:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,058 times.