Upper Langwith, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Langwith, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Upper Langwith, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upper Langwith, Derbyshire
Upper Langwith Holy Cross Derbyshire.jpg
Upper Langwith Holy Cross Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chesterfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Upper Langwith is an Ancient Parishin the county of Derbyshire.


LANGWITH (UPPER), a parish in the district of Mansfield and county of Derby; contiguous to Notts, 6 miles NNW of Mansfield r. station, and 9 ESE of Chesterfield. Post-town, Langwith, under Mansfield. The church is old but good, and has a low tower.[1].

LANGWITH (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Mansfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 6 miles (N. by W.) from Mansfield. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district

Church records

Upper Langwith parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Upper Langwith Holy Cross (1686) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE   NONE
NONE   NONE
NONE
  NONE

Upper Langwith Holy Cross includes Langwith Bassett

Derbyshire Record Office Reference D 1949 Bap 1686-1993 Marr 1726-1983 Bur 1685-1973 Banns 1823-1942, 1963-1997

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1666-1868 Mar 1666- 1837 Burials 1666-1865

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.


See Derbyshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Langwith on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 29 June 2103.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 28-30. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,754 times.