Laverstock, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Laverstock, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Laverstock, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Laverstock, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alderbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1726
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611; 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

LAVERSTOCK (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Alderbury, partly in the hundred of Alderbury,and partly in that of Underditch, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire. The village stands on the Bourn river, near the Southwestern railway. The parish includes part of Ford Tything. 1 mile (N. E.) from Salisbury.[1] [2] [3]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Laverstock parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1727-1906





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 33-37. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. From: 'Laughton - Laverstoke', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 33-37. British HistoryDate accessed: 30 September 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  6. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,469 times.