Lavik, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Sogn og Fjordane County > Lavik

Contents

Church Records

Lavik clerical district contains the parish registers from the parishes Lavik, Brekke, and Kyrkjebø with Bjordal and Ortnevik chapels. Lavik and parishes were separated from Gulen (Evindvik) clerical district and Kyrkjebø parish was separated from Vik (Hopperstad, Hove) clerical district in 1807. Brekke parish was separated from Gulen clerical district in 1858. Included Bø parish until 1861 when it was transfered to Hyllestad clerical district.

The records for Lavik clerical district at the Family History Library are from 1809-1918. For earlier records see the above mentioned clerical districts.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.

Lavik: 1809-1863

Lavik / Kyrkjebø: 1854-1937

Lavik / Lavik: 1854-1942

Lavik / Lavik and Kyrkjebø: 1864-1881

Gulen: 1680-1682, 1699-1880

Gulen / Bø, Brekke, Lavik: 1736-1746

Gulen / Brekke: 1853-1914

Census Records

  • 1664-1666, 1801 see Gulen clerical district.
  • Lavik folketellingslister 30 Apr 1815 (Sogn og Fjordane).  The 1815 census for Lavik clerical district include the parishes of Lavik and Kyrkjebø and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library
  • Lavik folketellingslister 30 Nov 1825 (Sogn og Fjordane).  The 1825 census for Lavik clerical district include the parishes of Lavik and Kyrkjebø and is available on microfilm at theFamily History Library.
  • Lavik folketellingslister 29 Nov 1835 (Sogn og Fjordane).  The 1835 census for Lavik clerical district include the parishes of Lavik and Kyrkjebø and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875.  The 1875 census for Lavik clerical district include the parishes of Lavik, Brekke and Kyrkjebø and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Førsund, Adolf, Førsund, Sigurd and Leirnes, Leif, Ættebok for Kyrkjebø, Kyrkjebø : utgjeve av Bygdeboknemda for Kyrkjebø, 1949-1978. A genealogy of the people and their farms from Kyrkjebø and a part of Lavik in Sogn og Fjordane county, Norway. Vol. 3 is an extensive history of the area and includes some biographies of the more prominent business people of the area. FHL 948.34/K1 D2f A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.34-K1 D2f v2 - KYRKJEBO-2.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

41 Aarenes 28 Alværen 8 Avedal 31 Aven 20 Bilsbakke 14 Bjørkehaug 23 Bog 7 Bosdal 43 Brekken 24 Bruaas 25 Bruaasdal 1 Bækken 26 Espevik 13 Gudmundsaas 39 Haukhellen 2 Hellebøen 19 Hjelmeland indre 18 Kjønnaas 42 Kroken 5 Kvammen 4 Lavik 37 Masnes 38 Masnesberg 34 Mjeldelien 44 Myren 16 Mølmesdal 12 Nordstrand 22 Nygaard 4 Præstegaarden 29 Raae 30 Raasberg 27 Ringreide 6 Sanden 9 Soleim 10 Strandaas 17 Støldal 15 Stølsbotnen 11 Sørstrand 33 Torvund indre 45 Trædal indre 35 Vikum nordre 3 Værholmen 40 Østrebø

Probate Records

1698-1882: Probates may be found in Ytre Sogn judicial district.

1766-1810: Clerical probates may be found in Sogn Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 19:15.
  • This page has been accessed 925 times.