Lawrence County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Lawrence County

Guide to Lawrence County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Lawrence County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Lawrence County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1821
County Seat Louisa
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Lawrence Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Lawrence County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1822 1852 1830 1822 1821
*Records available for these years only: 1852-1859, 1874-1878, 1903-1908. Statewide registration began 1911.
Lawrence County Courthouse, Louisa, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Lawrence County Courthouse
122 S Main Cross Street
Louisa, KY 41230;
Phone: 606.638.4102[1]

History

Parent County

1821--Lawrence County was created 14 December 1821 from Greenup and Floyd Counties.  County seat: Louisa [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Adams Elm Grove (hist.) Kise (hist.) Skaggs
Adeline (hist.) Evergreen Ledocio Stringtown
Ben Bow Fallsburg Louisa Summit
Blaine Fisher Town (hist.) Lowmansville Terryville
Blevins Five Forks Martha Torchlight
Brows Defeat (hist.) Fullers Mazie Ulysses
Buchanan Gallup Noris Walbridge
Busseyville Georges Creek Orr Webbville
Chapman Glenwood Overda Webbs Mill (hist.)
Charley Green Valley (hist.) Patrick Wilbur
Cherokee Greenwood (hist.) Peach Orchard Yatesville
Clifford Hannah Prosperity (hist.) Zelda
Cordell Holt Providence (hist.)
Davisville Houckville Rockville (hist.)
Ellen Irad Richardson

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kylawrence.png

African American

African-American Info-Lawrence County KY

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Bible

Bible Records of Lawrence County KY

Biographies, Family History/Trees, GEDCOM files, etc

Family Trees of Lawrence County KY 
Linkpendium Surnames 
Sorted by Name.com-Lawrence County, Kentucky

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Kentucky Historical Society Cemetery Search can be searched by name, place and/or date.  This database has hundreds of thousands of names transcribed from gravestones across Kentucky. 
  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
  • Lawrence Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks. 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18303,900
18404,73021.3%
18506,28132.8%
18607,60121.0%
18708,49711.8%
188013,26256.1%
189017,70233.5%
190019,61210.8%
191020,0672.3%
192017,643−12.1%
193016,713−5.3%
194017,2753.4%
195014,418−16.5%
196012,134−15.8%
197010,726−11.6%
198014,12131.7%
199013,998−0.9%
200015,56911.2%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21127.txt

For tips on accessing Lawrence County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Census Online-Lawrence Co., Kentucky
Census Records of Lawrence Co., KY
Linkpedium Census Records and Indexes 

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Churches of Lawrence Co., Kentucky 

Court

Kentucky Court of Justice: Lawrence County, Ofice of the Circuit Court Clerk

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lawrence County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Wikipedia-Lawrence County, Kentucky 

Maps

Military

Lawrence County Military Records
Lawrence County, Kentucky Genealogy Trails-Lawrence County, Kentucky Pensioners
Lawrence County, Kentucky Veterans
Lawrence County, Kentucky World War II Casualities, Army and Airforce
List of Revelutionary War Pensioners 

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lawrence County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lawrence County, Kentucky:

- 14th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H and I.
- 22nd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Enrolled Militia)(Union), Company D.
- 39th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, I and K.

Newspapers

Big Sandy News Online
Clippings From the Big Sandy News, Lawrence Co., KY
 

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lawrence County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Big Sandy News Obituaries
Lawrence County KY Obituaries at Genealogy Trails
Lawrence County KY Archives: Death & Obituary Index Table
Lawrence County Public Library Obituary Searcher
Obituaries Lawrence Co., KY
 

Probate

Probate records are held by the Lawrence County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lawrence County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Wills, Lawrence County, KY 

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Tax List of Lawrence County, KY 

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Lawrence County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Lawrence County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1860 - Lawrence County Birth Index 1852-1860. Batch C517601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874 - Lawrence County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517602 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Lawrence County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517603 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1852-1860 - Lawrence County Marriage Index 1852-1860. Batch M517601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Lawrence County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517604 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1878 - Lawrence County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517605 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted

GenealogyBuff.com: Miscellaneous Lawrence County, Kentucky Marriages 1822-1854 
Lawrence County KY Archives: Death & Obituary Index Table 
Lawrence County Kentucky Marriage Index

Societies and Libraries

Lawrence County Historical Society 
Lawrence County Public Library

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Laurel County, Kentucky page 272, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 March 2014, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 9,743 times.