Lee Chapel, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lee Chapel, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Lee Chapel, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lee Chapel, Essex
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Billericay
Registration District Billericay
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office


Parish History

Lee, Chapel, is in the parish of East Tilbury, union of Orsett, hundred of Barstable, S. division of Essex.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Lee Chapel on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 17:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,588 times.