Leeds Christ Church, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England Yorkshire Yorkshire Parishes K-R West Riding of Yorkshire Leeds Christ Church Here is a Complete List of Leeds' chapels, district churches and chapelries for researchers.Guide to Leeds Christ Church, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Leeds Christ Church, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Leeds; Leeds Borough|
|Poor Law Union||Leeds Guardians PLU|
|Registration District||Hunslet; Leeds|
|Parish registers: 1827|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1827|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
History available From: Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Leeds Christ Church exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|LEEDS CHRIST CHURCH CHAPELRY (1715) Online Records|
|LEEDS ST PETER PARISH (1572) Online Records (to which Christ Church is attached)|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464286.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 14:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,386 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News