Leicester St Margaret, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Leicester St Margaret, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Leicester St Margaret, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guthlaxton; Leicester Borough
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Leicester PLU
Registration District Blaby; Leicester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christianity
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of St Margaret in Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Leicester St. Margaret is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Leicestershire. Knighton is a chapelry of Leicester St Margaret.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leicester St Margaret, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Leicester St Margaret, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1615-1908
1615-1836
1615-1848

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438750.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 20:19.
  • This page has been accessed 2,991 times.