Leicester St Martin, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Leicester St Martin, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leicester St Martin, Leicestershire
St+Martin+Cathedral Leicester.JPG
St Martin Cathedral, Leicester
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leicester Borough
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Leicester PLU
Registration District Leicester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christianity
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Leicester St. Martin is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Leicestershire. [1]

St. Martin's has for long been regarded as the principal church in the borough. In 1575 it was ordered that two or three members of every household in the borough and its suburbs should attend the Wednesday and Friday sermons in the church. It was also specifically associated with the corporation, and the mayor was made responsible for the churchwardens' accounts by an order in the common hall in 1510. Nichols referred to St.Martin's as the principal church in the county and by the 19th century the assize sermons, archdeacon's courts, and bishop's confirmations were held there. The undoubted pre-eminence of St. Martin's madeit the obvious choice for a cathedral, when it was proposed to create a see of Leicester in 1922, although the claims of St. Margaret's were also pressed. In 1922 the church was made collegiate,with the Bishop of Peterborough as dean supported by a college of clerical and lay canons, to prepare for the creation of the new bishopric. By an Order in Council the see was created in 1926 in fulfilment of the Bishopric of Leicester Measure of the previous year. St. Martin's Church was hallowed as the cathedral in February 1927. Dr. Cyril Bardsley,who had been the first dean of the temporary college,was appointed the first bishop. Great emphasis was laid at the time upon the existence of the Anglo Saxon see of Leicester from the 7th to the 9th centuries, which was thus recreated after a thousand years.

The cathedral body now consists of a provost and college of canons, clerical and lay. The provost is also the Vicar of St. Martin's in its capacity as a parish church.

The advowson of St. Martin's was presumably one of those given in 1107 to the college of St. Mary de Castro and transferred in 1143 to Leicester Abbey. The church is first mentioned in 1220,when it was already appropriated to the abbey.

From: 'The ancient borough: St. Martin's ', A History of the County of Leicester: volume 4: The City of Leicester (1958), pp. 361-369. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=66578 Date accessed: 22 May 2011.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leicester St Martin, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Leicester St Martin, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1558-1910


Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Leicester St. Martin Bap 1558-1998 M 1558 – 1947 (Banns to 1952)  Bur 1558 - 1888

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438751.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Harris, Liz.  Ann Coe - a Timeline.  History and time line of Joseph Coe married Anne Sturgess at Leicester. St. Martin, in  Feb 1831,and their descendants,  with following surnames, Yeomans, Hulbert, Reculest, Smith Beeby, Page, Panter and Barratt. The family moved around Leicestershire, to Oadby, Desborough, Rothwell, and Long Yard.  Article dates from 1805-1963, and is found in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 35,no.1. August 2012 pages 19-22, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.35.no.1.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 March 2015, at 15:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,738 times.