Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record OfficeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Gotoarrow.png Rutland Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contents

Contact Information

Record Office video tour

E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk
Address:

Long Street
Wigston Magna, Leicester, LE18 2AH

Telephone:  0116 257 1080

Hours and holidays:

  • Mon., Tues., Thurs. 9:15 AM to 5:00 PM
  • Wed. 9:15 AM to 7:30 PM
  • Sat. 9:15 AM to 12:15 PM

Directions, maps, and public transportation: accessible by car and bus

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

  • Leicestershire and Rutland parish registers
  • Leicestershire and Rutland census records
  • Ancestry.co.uk and FindMyPast.co.uk subscriptions
  • Leicestershire wills
  • Leicestershire and Rutland monumental inscriptions
  • Leicestershire and Rutland family and local histories
  • Leicestershire and Rutland newspapers
  • Leicestershire and Rutland maps
  • Leicestershire and Rutland quarter sessions, petty sessions
  • Leicestershire and Rutland poor law records

Tips

  • CARN card is required for admission (County Archive Research Network). If you do not have a CARN card, bring an official document which proves your identity and address (driving licence for example) and we will issue you a reader's ticket
  • Pre-book a microfilm or microfiche reader
  • There are no entrance fees
  • Laptops are permitted
  • Digital cameras are permitted
  • Free lockers are available
  • Research services are available for a fee
  • Photocopiers, computer printers, and film and fiche printers are available for a fee[1]

Alternate Repositories

Similar Collections

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 'Record Office Leaflet,' Leicestershire, Leicester, and Rutland Record Office, 2013, http://www.leics.gov.uk/record_office_leaflet_2013.pdf, accessed 21 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 February 2014, at 21:44.
  • This page has been accessed 342 times.