Leigh, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Leigh, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Leigh, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leigh, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Highworth, Cricklade and Staple
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Cricklade and Wootton Bassett
Registration District Cricklade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1683; For more records see Ashton Keynes
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cricklade
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

LEIGH, a chapelry in Ashton-Keynes parish, in the county of Wilts (Wiltshire). It is located in the hundred of Highworth, Cricklade and Staple,Cricklade.[1][2][3]

Leigh is located on the river Thames, near the boundary with Gloucestershire, 3¼miles (W. by S.) from Cricklade and 1½ miles NE of Minety railway station.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leigh, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Leigh, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
NIM 1605-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 62-65. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. From: 'Leigh - Leigh-Wooley', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 62-65. British HistoryDate accessed: 30 September 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,727 times.