Leighton Bromswold, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Leighton Bromswold, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leightonstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Huntingdon
Registration District Huntingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leightonstone
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1839 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Leighton Bromswold; Post-1838 - Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Leighton Bromswold, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History

Leighton Bromswold or Leighton, is a village and a parish in the district of Huntingdon, Huntingdonshire, 5 miles N E of Kimbleton railway station.[1] 


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leighton Bromswold, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Leighton Bromswold, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1604-1876




Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288837.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Leighton Bromswold on GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 18 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 15:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,576 times.