Lethendy and Kinloch, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Lethendy and Kinloch

Parish #372

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Lethendy and Kinloch. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.



LETHENDY and KINLOCH, a parish, in the county of Perth, 4 miles (S. W. by W.) from Blairgowrie. These two ancient parishes were united about the year 1806. The church of Kinloch is a plain modern structure; that of Lethendy very ancient, and much dilapidated. The members of the Free Church and the United Secession have places of worship.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Lethendy and Kinloch, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Family History Library Film Number
Surname Indexes
941.32 X22p 1851 no. 372
6086646 (6 fiche)

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered Family History Library Film Number
Births: 1698-1854 - Lethendy 1040122 item 4-6

1698-1854 - Kinloch 1040122 item 4-6
Marriages: 1698-1733 - Lethendy 1040122 item 4-6

1754-1789 - Lethendy
1040122 item 4-6

1802, 1810 - Lethendy
1040122 item 4-6

1819-1854 - Lethendy
1040122 item 4-6

1698-1854 - Kinloch 1040122 item 4-6
Deaths: 1754-1785 - Lethendy 1040122 item 4-6

1825-1851 - Lethendy 1040122 item 4-6

1707-1708 - Kinloch 1040122 item 4-6

1719-1841 - Kinloch 1040122 9tem 4-6


Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Lethendy: Births are intermixed with marriages prior to December 1733. There are no entries for December 1733–November 1754, after which separate registers are kept. The entries are Irregular about 1790–1800 but a duplicate record for 1783–1800 is written in more regular order. Mothers' names begin to be recorded about 1790 but are sometimes omitted after that date.
Kinloch: There are no entries July 1710–February 1713 and August 1715–June 1718. There are irregular entries dated 1731–1751 after the record for September 1733. Mothers' names are omitted 1713–1715 and 1729–1736, except January–September 1734.
Marriages: Lethendy: See births above. Only two entries are recorded for November 1783–March 1788 and three; two for 1802 and one for 1810, for November 1789–November 1819. There is a separate record containing entries for proclamations 1698–1733.
Kinloch: There are only three entries for 1713 March 1710–October 1721, one for August 1731–June 1733, one for April 1741–August 1742, one for July 1743–June 1751, and only four for December 1805–February 1811.
Deaths: Lethendy: The record is burials January 1758–March 1785, regularly kept, after which there are only five entries, one for each of the years 1785, 1797, 1802, 1818 and 1820. The record is Mortcloth Dues 1754–1780 and 1825–1851.
Kinloch: The record is Mortcloth Dues. There are only four entries before March 1725, four for December 1739–March 1755, and three for September 1765–January 1785, and three, 1815–1818, for February 1804–June 1820. The record ends in 1841.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:


Minutes 1754–1784, 1802, 1838–1850
Collections 1754–1786, 1791–1802, 1808–1838
Poors Accounts 1698–1725
Accounts 1838–1854

Roll of Male Heads of Families

1835 and 1837 lists of male heads of families in this parish can be found here.


Minutes 1697–1814, 1826–1850
Collections 1783–1841

Roll of Male Heads of Families

An 1835 list of male heads of families in this parish can be found here.

Lethendy and Kinloch

Minutes 1847–1951
Accounts 1842–1929
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/240.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Lethendy United Presbyterian Church

The seceders in Lethendy continued to attend the Muirkirk of Kinclaven until 1784. They applied to the General Associate Antiburgher Presbytery of Perth for supply of sermon, which was granted. A church was built in 1785.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D. pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details are given in the source.

Family History Library Film Number
Baptisms 1803–1865 - incomplete 0304671 item 18 X
Note: The X means that records have been extracted.
Session Minutes 1787–1885
Congregational and Managers’ Minutes 1830–1876
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/21.

Lethendy and Kinloch Free Church

The minister of the parish, and six elders, "came out" in 1843. Church and manse were erected in 1843–1844.
Membership: 1848, 87; 1900, 89.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Minutes 1843–1930
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/481.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Lethendy and Kinloch  was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunkeld until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunkled.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 157-175. Adapted. Date accessed: 09 May 2014.

Return to Perthshire parish list.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2015, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,615 times.