Letton, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Letton, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stretford; Wolphy
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Weobley PLU
Registration District Weobly
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660; For more records see Kinnersley
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LETTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Weobley, partly in the hundred of Stretford, and partly in that of Wolphy, county of Hereford.[1]

Letton, Hereford.—See Walford:  WALFORD, with Letton and Newton, a township, in the parish of Leintwardine, union of Knighton, hundred of Wigmore, county of Hereford, 13 miles (N. W. by N.) from Leominster. [2]


Letton St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in Herefordshire in the Letton civil parish.

The Parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The church has in recent years needed substantial fundraising for essential repairs to the structure of the building and has been supported by a number of organisations and local fund raising to survive as an Historic preserved church.

It is part of the Weobley and Staunton group of churches.

See also

Village Website for history of the village and of the family history service funded by donations for parish record searches.

Herefordshire Churches

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district

Certificates may be obtained from
Herefordshire
The Register Office
Town Hall
St. Owens Street
Hereford
HR1 1RJ
Phone 01432 260565

Fax 01432 261720

Email registrars@herefordshire.gov.uk

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Herefordshire Archives Harold Street Hereford HR1 2QX England Tel: 01432 260750 Fax: 01432 260066 Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk Website: here

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionLetton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288819.

See Herefordshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Weobley Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 68-74. Accessed and adapted: 8 March, 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 436-439. Accessed and adapted 8 March, 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 571 times.