Lexden, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lexden, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Lexden, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lexden, Essex
Lexden St Leonard Essex.jpg
Lexden St Leonard Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lexden
County Essex
Poor Law Union Colchester PLU
Registration District Colchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Colchester
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lexden, is a village and a parish in Colchester district, and within Colchester borough, Essex. The village stands on the river Colne, near the Eastern Counties railway, 1 mile W of Colchester; it dates from at least the time of the Confessor; and has a post office, under Colchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lexden, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Lexden, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1560-1754


ESSEX
1560-1837
1560-1837
1561-1852
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241380.


Poor Law Unions

Colchester Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Lexden on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 18:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,956 times.