Lier, Buskerud, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lier, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngBuskerud County Gotoarrow.pngLier

Guide to Lier, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Contents

Church Records

Parish registers are available at the Family History Library on microfilm. Lier clerical district contains parish registers for the parishes Frogner, Sylling and Tranby in Lier clerical district. Included Strømsø parish until 1723. Records from 1672-1932.

Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Lier: 1672-1882, 1900-1969

Lier/Frogner: 1874-1942,

 Lier/Frogner og Sjåstad: 1909-1917,

Lier/Tranby: 1873-1938.

Searchable birth, death and marriage records are available at Dis-Norge. When you get to the main page it is in Norweigan. Select Kilder i Buskerud. Then you will see a list of parishes contained in Buskerud County. Select Lier from the buttons on the left. You have the choice of seeing Kirkeboker (Church books) or Andre Kilder (Other sources). Click on church books and you will see a grid of Dåp (Christening), Konf (Confirmation), Gifte (marriage), Døde (death). When you click on any of the time periods you will be able to create your own search engine to search the time period you want to find the record in. This is very helpful.

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall Bragernes Prosti b. 9 Lier clerical district with Frogner, Tranby and Sylling parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122996 Item 1 and at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and as a database.
  • 1801 Census Lier clerical district includes Lier, Frogner, Sylling and Tranby. However, Bragernes parish is also listed with Lier clerical district at this time period, as the first parish on this film. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122968 Item 2 and at Digitalarkivet as a 1801-telling for 0626 Lier.
  • 1815 Census Lier clerical district in Buskerud county, which includes Frogner, Tranby and Sylling parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 1694664 Item 3 and at Digitalarkivet as Folketeljing for Lier 1815.

Court Records

Farm Book

Farm index for Lier Farms books online. Liers historie bind 1-6 Lier kommune has put their farm books on the internet in a searchable format.

Here you will find Lier historie vols. 1-6 i digitalized and searchable format. Lier is excited to be one of the first communities to make their farm books available in this format.

Land Records

Farm Books or bygdebøks are very helpful in searching for families in rural areas in Norway.   In every rural town in Buskerud you will see following in official chuch record a place name or name of farm following every persons name.  For example:  Hans Guttormsen Helgerud.  Helgerud being the place name or farm name.  So if you search in that farm book you might be able to see a pedigree of this person or this person's father depending on if they owned land.  For Lier parish all of the farm books are online http://www.lier.kommune.no/liers-historie/gaardsregister.htm .  Just note that even if a farm name is listed after a person's name, it does not mean that they were the owners of that land or farm.  That person could of just been living there working the land for the owner or a servant living there. 

Probate Records

Lier, Røyken og Hurum judicial district
*1701-1835 Family History Library
*1701-1835 Digitalarkivet

To search the actual probate record documents go to Digitalarkivet. This takes you to the official digital archives of Norway. This is a free website. You can choose English or Norwegian. In the top blue menu bar you can select Digitized probate material. Now this section is all in Norwegian. Choose all for the first pull down menu. Choose the county, (Buskerud), for the next pull down menu. Then choose Lier, Royken and Hurum in the third pull down menu. Choose Alle in the fourth pull down menu. Then select UTFØR to search. You will see the different time periods listed in the second blue column. All but one has a register or index accompanying it. Start by clicking on the register to the right of the time period the person died. (It will also be helpful to know the farm of the person before searching, as there are so many duplicate names.) You can adjust the percent view in the upper left hand corner in the pull down menu. It starts at a 40% view. In most of the registers it will list the person by first name and then list a page number on which the probate will be found. After finding the persons name just type the page number in the search box that starts out saying "mangler". You can easily scroll through the pages by clicking on the screen with your mouse.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 16:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,843 times.