Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckingham
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Buckingham PLU
Registration District Buckingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bicester
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lillingstone Lovell formed a detached portion of Oxfordshire in 1086, probably as the result of a dependency upon the important royal manor of Kirtlington. The parish was finally transferred to Buckinghamshire in 1844 whittlewoodproject.com. Lillingstone Lovell is an Ancient Parish in the county of Oxfordshire. [1]

Livingstone Lovell was a detached portion of Oxfordshire under the control of the royal manor of Kirtlington, valued for its woodland and hunting being part of the ancient Whittlewood Forest. It was transferred to Buckinghamshire under the Counties (Detached Parts) Act 1844. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Lillingstone Lovell, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1840

OFHS 1558-1840
1558-1840
1558-1840


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,251 times.