Limpley Stoke, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Limpley Stoke, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Limpley Stoke, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History


LIMPLEY-STOKE, a Tything, in the chapelry of Winsley. It is located in the union and hundred of Bradford, Westbury in the county of Wilts(Wiltshire). It is on the boundary with Somerset, 3¼ miles W of Bradford. limpley-stoke is in the subdivisions of Trowbridge and Bradford.[1][2]

The village stands near the river Avon, the Kennet and Avon canal, the Bathampton branch of the Great Western railway.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Limpley Stoke, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

NIM 1622-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 217-220. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,038 times.