Lincoln County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Lincoln County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1818
County Seat Troy
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
201 Main Street
Troy, MO 63379
Phone: 636.528.4415
Lincoln County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

County Recorder has marriage records from 1825, land,
death and burial records; Pro Judge has probate records
from 1823; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Lincoln County was created 14 December 1818 from St. Charles County. County seat: Troy [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Calhoun County, Illinois  • Montgomery  • Pike  • St. Charles  • Warren

Lincoln CountyGasconade CountyOsage CountyWarren CountyAudrain CountyPike CountyMontgomery CountyRalls CountyMorgan CountyGreene CountyCalhoun CountyPike CountyScott CountyJersey CountyCallaway CountySt. Charles CountyFranklin CountySt. Louis CountyMOLincoln1 (1).JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

FindaGrave Listings.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Molincoln.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company G<br
- 37th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 37th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 37th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 37th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 37th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 37th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 37th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1865-1881 - Lincoln County Birth Index 1865-1881. Batch C515343 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1825-1879 - Lincoln County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1825-1879. Batch M515341 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1865-1881 - Lincoln County Marriage Index 1865-1881. Batch M515343 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1879-1885 - Lincoln County Marriage Books 4 and 5 Index 1879-1885. Batch M515342 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Genealogical Society

Lincoln County Genealogical Society & Library
1023 Ridge Road
Troy, MO 63379-5654
Phone: (636) 528-7551
Website: http://www.mogenweb.org/lincoln/research/lcsociety.htm

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lincoln County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lincoln County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Lincoln County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Lincoln County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lincoln County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lincoln County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 21:21.
  • This page has been accessed 5,666 times.