Lincoln County, Montana GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Lincoln County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lincoln County, Montana|
Location in the state of Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 9, 1909|
|Address|| Lincoln County Courthouse|
512 California Ave
Libby, MT 59923
Lincoln County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 9 March 1909 from Flathead
- County seat: Libby 
- Neighboring Counties: Bonner County, Idaho | Boundary County, Idaho | Flathead | Sanders
- Cemetery records of Lincoln and Valley counties, Montana Names within cemeteries may be alphabetically arranged. There are some indexes. Contains in Lincoln County: Boyd Cemetery, Leonia Cemetery, Libby Cemetery, Milnor Lake Cemetery, Troy Cemetery. Contains in Valley County: Center Community Cemetery, Highland Cemetery, Hillcrest Cemetery, Hinsdale Cemetery, Lawndale Cemetery, Qualley Cemetery.
- Tobacco Valley - Eureka Cemetery, Lincoln County, Montana : cemetery listing 1904 - mid 2010
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- See an interactive map of Lincoln County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Naturalization and Citizenship
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Kalispell newspapers. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Lincoln - Probate records.
County Clerk has birth, death and land records from 1909; Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records; County Clerk also has some trancribed birth and death records prior to 1909 
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- Montana Genealogy Society Directory
- Genealogy Inc Lincoln County, Montana
- Kindred Trails Lincoln County, Montana
- Link Pendium Lincoln County, Montana
- [hhttp://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~mtlincol/ USGenWeb Lincoln County, Montana project]. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
- This page was last modified on 2 October 2015, at 19:22.
- This page has been accessed 6,727 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News