Lincoln County, WyomingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lincoln County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


United States Gotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wyoming
Online Records


Lincoln County, Wyoming
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wyoming
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1913
County Seat Kemmerer
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
PO Box 670
Kemmerer, WY 83101
Phone: 307.877.9056
Lincoln County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
----*
1913*
----*
1871
1899
1913
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent County: created 20 February 1913 from Uinta County.
  • County Seat: Kemmerer [1]
  • Neighboring Counties:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

  • Border Cemetery
  • Cokeville Cemetery
  • Geneva Cemetery
  • Raymond Cemetery
  • Sage Cemetery
  • Smith Fork Cemetery
  • Kemmerer Headstones Sponsored by the Lincoln County Historical Society
  • Beaver Cemetrey
  • Diamondville Cemetery
  • Ham's Fork Cemetery
  • Holden Cemetery
  • Kemmerer Cemetery
  • Twin Creeks Cemetery
  • Viola-LaBarge Cemetery
  • Afton Cemetery
  • Alpine Cemetery
  • Amesville Cemetery
  • Auburn Cemetery
  • Bedford Cemetery
  • Etna Cemetery
  • Fairview Cemetery
  • Freedom Cemetery
  • Grover Cemetery
  • Smoot Cemetery
  • Thayne Cemetery
  • Turnerville Cemetery

Census

For tips on accessing Lincoln County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Afton
  • Afton N.
  • Afton S.
  • Auburn
  • Bedford
  • Cokeville
  • Cumberland
  • Diamondvillle
  • Diamondville-Kemmerer
  • Elkol
  • Etna
  • Fairview
  • Freedom
  • Grover
  • Kemmerer
  • Kemmerer-Diamondville
  • Oakley
  • Osmond
  • Smoot
  • Thayne
  • Turnerville

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Wyoming. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps

Wylincoln.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Wyoming newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Cokeville Register 1914–1919
  • Kemmerer Camera 1901–1921
  • Kemmerer Republican 1914–1920
  • Star Valley Pioneer/Star Valley Independent 1901–1922

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Lincoln - Probate records.

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wyoming Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1913 and land records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and probate records from 1913 and court records.[4]

Family History Centers

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Wyomong Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Websites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map IV" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap4.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  3. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Lincoln County, Wyoming

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 April 2014, at 23:54.
  • This page has been accessed 9,518 times.