Lincoln South Common, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Lincoln South Common, Lincolnshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lincoln South Common, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lincoln
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

This is one of seven extra parochial places in the city of Lincoln.
See the Parish of Canwick. Per website "After the Enclosure Award of Canwick Parish, Canwick Common became Lincoln's South Common." [1] [2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

This is one of seven extra parochial places in the city of Lincoln. Link to FamilySearch Catalogue Lincoln South Common

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438771.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazateer of England and Wales, 1870-72.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 501-511


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 03:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,272 times.