Lincoln St Margaret in the Close, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Lincoln St Margaret in the Close, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lincoln St Margaret in the Close, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lincoln
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln PLU
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christianity
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lincoln St. Margaret in the Close lies within the boundary of Lincoln the Virgin Mary Cathedral (Ancient Parish). This Parish was functioning by at least the year 1538. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

All Lincoln parishes now have available images online from Lincs to the past website. Use Advanced search terms Par 1 and the name of the parish Search Lincs to the past to identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street Lincoln Lincolnshire LN2 5AB England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lincoln St Margaret in the Close

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438771.


Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Lincoln/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 87-95

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 03:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,854 times.