Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Lincolnshire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|News and Events|
|* Please add upcoming genealogical news and events|
| Key topics to get started:
|Did You Know?|
|* Please add items of interest|
|How to edit this sidebar|
Lincolnshire (abbreviated Lincs) is a maritime county located in the East of England.
"LINCOLNSHIRE, or LINCS, a maritime county on the E of England. It is bounded on the N and NE, by the Humber, which separates it from Yorkshire; on the E, by the German ocean; on the SE, for about 3 miles, by Norfolk; on the S, by Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire; on the SW, by Rutlandshire; on the W, by Leicestershire and Notts; and on the NW, by Yorkshire.
"Lincolnshire contains 620 parishes, part of another parish, and 43 extra-parochial places. It is divided into the Parts of Holland, Kesteven, and Lindsey, each containing several wapentakes... It is divided again, for parliamentary representation, into North and South, the former consisting of the Parts of Lindsey, the latter of the Parts of Kesteven and the Parts of Holland...
"The county is governed by a lord lieutenant, about 110 deputy lieutenants, and about 500 magistrates; and is in the Home military district, the Midland judiciary circuit, and the diocese of Lincoln. The assizes are held at Lincoln; and the quarter sessions for the Parts of Lindsey, at Kirton and Spilsby, -for the Parts of Kesteven, at Bourn and Sleaford, -for the Parts of Holland, at Boston and Spalding...
"The places of worship within the electoral county, in 1851, were 657 of the Church of England, 38 of Independents, 22 of Particular Baptists, 3 of General Baptists, 31 of New Connexion General Baptists, 6 of undefined Baptists, 9 of Quakers, 1 of Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, 462 of Wesleyan Methodists, 6 of New Connexion Methodists, 221 of Primitive Methodists, 14 of Wesleyan Reformers, 5 of Unitarians, 8 of isolated congregations, 5 of Latter Day Saints, and 13 of Roman Catholics.
"Population in 1801 was 208,625; in 1821, 283,058; in 1841, 362,602; in 1861, 412,246."
The above extract was taken from: John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). You can read the full account online at Vision of Britain.
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Lincolnshire.
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Lincolnshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Lincolnshire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.
See a list of parishes of Lincolnshire with links to articles.
Before 1858, every town and parish in Lincolnshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Lincolnshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Lincolnshire Probate Records.
- Lincolnshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Lincolnshire Resources and help pages. (Free).
Sedgebrook - A Village and its People (http://freepages.history.rootsweb.com/~sedgebrook)
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Lincolnshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Lincolnshire
|Leicestershire||Rutland, Northamptonshire, Cambridgeshire||The WashNorfolk|
- This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 13:21.
- This page has been accessed 11,504 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News