Lindow, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lindow, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Lindow

Guide to Lindow, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Lindow, eccl. dist., Wilmslow par., Cheshire, pop. 680; contains Lindow End, hamlet, 3 miles SW. of Wilmslow sta. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Lindow Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Lindow St. John the Evangelist Parish (1877) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1878-1901
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1877-1903
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1878-1903
  NONE

Created a parish from Chorley in 1877.  A district church for part of Aldelrey Edge from 1894.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bishop's transcripts for Lindow, 1877-1903 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 126

Bishops Transcripts: Lindow
Film
Baptisms, 1877-1878; burials, 1878-1879; baptisms, burials, 1879-1903.
1647517 Item 6

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield (wholly, 1894-1936 ; partly 1936-37) *
  • Bucklow (partly, 1936-37 ; wholly, 1937-74) *
  • Macclesfield (1974-98)
  • Cheshire East (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield (1894-1930)

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles Date accessed: 24th January 2014.



Bibliography



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 July 2015, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 550 times.