Liscard St John, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Liscard St John, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Liscard St John

Guide to Liscard St John, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

LISCARD, a township, in the parish of Wallasey, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 3 miles (N. by W.) from Birkenhead. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Liscard St John Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Liscard St John Chapelry (1882) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
1882-1932
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1881-1899
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Egremont and Liscard shared the chapelry of St. John Liscard. Both were in the parish of Wallasey. 

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. John's Church, Liscard, 1834-1952. Cheshire Record Office no.: P79/1-3, P79/4707/1-3, 6-7, 10-11; P79/2/3-4.

Parish Registers: Liscard St John Film
Baptisms, 1881-1901. Marriages, 1895-1907. Banns, 1834-1883.
1655857 Items 4 - 6
Baptisms, 1900-1949.
2298980 Items 7 - 10
Marriages, 1907-Nov. 1940.
2299009
Marriages, Nov. 1940-1950. Banns of marriages, 1906-1913, 1933-1952.
2299010 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for St. John's Church, Liscard, 1833-1861 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 127

Bishops Transcripts: Liscard St. John
Film
Marriages, 1833-1837, baptisms, 1833-1852, 1856-1861, burials, 1856-1857, baptisms, burials, 1855, 1854-1855, baptisms, 1853, burials, 1833-1853.
1647518 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-1861)
  • Birkenhead (1861-1912)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral (1836-1861)
  • Birkenhead (1861-1912)

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 98-101. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.



Bibliography



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 July 2015, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 472 times.