Lissington, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lissington, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Lissington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lissington, Lincolnshire
Lissington St John the Baptist Lincolnshire.jpg
Lissington St John the Baptist Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wraggoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wraggoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

LISSINGTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Caistor, W. division of the wapentake of Wraggoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4¼ miles (S.) from Market-Rasen. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Lissington Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionLissington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438766.

See Lincolnshire Census


Pollock, John M: A Community Revealed. History and family tree of two families of Saundby. Joseph Wilson, wife unknown with the following surnames; Jackson, Lowrys, Newling, Cottingham, Harrison Musgrave, Baker, Darley, Herring and Taylor. 2) Edmund Cottingham and Elizabeth Frances Easton with the following surnames, Musgrave, Wilson, Harrison, dating 1782-1948. Mr Pollock, was searching Cottinghams from Saundby, Harrisons from Spridlington, Musgraves from Cold Hanworth, and Herrings from Waddingham. Article in Lincolnshire Family History Soc. Mag vol. 18, no. 2, pages 77-80. FHL Ref. 942.53 D25Lf

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 101-104. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 15:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,740 times.